Board of Directors

Mandate & Composition:

The management of the Society is vested in a Board of Directors consisting of an Executive Committee and at least 6 Board members, and Trainee Representatives. The Executive Committee is composed of: President, Vice-President, immediate Past-President, Secretary, Treasurer.

Executive Committee

President: Dr. Hans-Joachim Wieden

Hans-Joachim WiedenFaculty of Science Lead for BioSciences Entrepreneurship and Industry Partnerships
Faculty of Science, University of Manitoba
45 Chancellors Cir, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2N2, Canada

Vice-President: Dr. Walid A. Houry

Walid Houry

Department of Biochemistry, Faculty of Medicine
University of Toronto
661 University Avenue
MaRS Centre, West Tower, Room 1612
Toronto, ON
M5G 1M1

Tel: (416) 946-7141

Secretary: Dr. Tarik Möröy

Tarik MoroyInstitut de recherches cliniques de Montréal IRCM
Laboratory on Hematopoiesis and Cancer
110 Avenue des Pins Ouest
Montréal, QC
H2W 1R7
Tel: (514) 987-5501

Treasurer: Dr. Jan Rainey

Jan Rainey

Dalhousie University
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Tupper Medical Building
Halifax, NS
B3H 4R2
Tel: (902) 494-4632

Past- President: Dr. Imogen R. Coe, President of CSMB

Imogen CoeToronto Metropolitan University
Department of Chemistry and Biology
350 Victoria Street
Toronto, ON
M5B 2K3

CSMB Board members

Katey RaynerDr. Katey Rayner

Faculty of Medicine, University of Ottawa
451 Smyth Road, room 4103
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada, K1H 8M5

Vincent ArchambaultDr. Vincent Archambault

IRIC | Université de Montréal
2950, Chemin de Polytechnique
Marcelle-Coutu Pavilion
Montréal, Québec  H3C 3J7

Dr. Mojgan Rastegar

Mojgan RastegarUniversity of Manitoba
624-745 Bannatyne Avenue, BMSB
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3E 0J9
Tel:   204.272.3108
Fax:  204.789.3900
Lab:  204.272.3145

Dr. Mohan Babu

Mohan BabuDepartment of Chemistry and Biochemistry
University of Regina
3737 Wascana Parkway, LB 244
Regina, SK  S4S 0A2

Dr. Michael Downey

Michael Downey

Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine
University of Ottawa
Roger Guindon Hall, room 4501H
451 Smyth Road,
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada, K1H 8M5

Dr. Trushar Patel

Trushar Patel
Trushar Patel

Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Lethbridge University
4401 University Drive
Lethbridge, Alberta
T1K 3M4


Costin Antonescu
Costin Antonescu

Dr. Costin Antonescu

Kerr Hall North
Room KHN-212
43 Gerrard St.
Toronto, ON M5G 2A7

Trainee representatives:

Matthew David BergMatthew David Berg

University of Washington



Fabian RohdenFabian Rohden

University of Manitoba