Executive Committee

Mandate: The Executive Committee of the Board of Directors consists of the CSMB Officers and one at-large Director elected by the Board of Directors. The Executive Committee is authorized to act on behalf of the Board of Directors between meetings of the Board of Directors. The Executive Committee is subject to the oversight of the Board of Directors, and in keeping with this, the President (or Secretary) will report on any actions taken by the Executive Committee to the Board of Directors at the next Board meeting.

Composition:  CSMB President (chair), Vice-President, Past-President, Treasurer, Secretary, and 1 Councillor


  • Conduct periodic conferences call to discuss any issues, and act on behalf of the Board, as required.
  • Make decisions on behalf of the Board, if time sensitive.

Members of the executive committee

Dr. Tarik Möröy, President of CSMB

Tarik Moroy
Institut de recherches cliniques de Montréal IRCM
Laboratory on Hematopoiesis and Cancer
110 Avenue des Pins Ouest
Montréal, QC
H2W 1R7
Tel: (514) 987-5501
Email: Tarik.Moroy@ircm.qc.ca


Dr. Imogen Coe, Vice-President of CSMB

Imogen Coe
Ryerson University
Department of Chemistry and Biology
350 Victoria Street
Toronto, ON
M5B 2K3
Email: imogen.coe@ryerson.ca


Dr. Philip Hieter, Past-President & Chair of the Nominating Committee

Phil Hieter
University of British Columbia
Michael Smith Laboratories
2185 East Mall
Vancouver, BC
V6T 1Z4
Tel: (604) 822-5115
Email: hieter@msl.ubc.ca

Dr. Jan Rainey, Treasurer of CSMB

Jan Rainey

Dalhousie University
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Tupper Medical Building
Halifax, NS
B3H 1X5
Tel: (902) 494-4632
Email: jan.rainey@dal.ca


Dr. James Davie, Secretary of CSMB

James DavieDepartment of Biochemistry and Medical Genetics
Room 333A – 745 Bannatyne Avenue
Basic Medical Sciences Building – Bannatyne Campus
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3E 0J9
Tel. (204)272-3174
Email: jim.davie@umanitoba.ca