2010 Annual Conference

53rd Annual Meeting of the Canadian Society for Biochemistry,
Molecular and Cellular Biology

Membrane Proteins in Health and Disease

April 15-18, 2010
Banff Conference Centre
Banff, Alberta

The 53nd Annual Meeting and Conference of the Canadian Society of Biochemistry, Molecular and Cellular Biology on “Membrane Proteins in Health and Disease” will be held on April 15-18, 2010 at the Banff Centre located within the national park grounds in Banff, Alberta, Canada.

The theme of the meeting is “Membrane Proteins in Health and Disease” and will feature sessions on Trafficking / Folding, Membrane Proteins in Non-Mammalian Species, Regulation of Membrane Proteins, Diseases of Membrane Proteins, and Membrane Protein Structure.  Each of the sessions will feature multiple leaders in their areas from across America and Europe.  Immediately prior to the Main meeting two Satellite meetings will be held on Bicarbonate Transporters (organized by Reinhart Reithmeier and Joe Casey) and sodium/proton exchangers (organized by Larry Fliegel).

There will also be CSBMCB awards lectures and poster sessions with presentations by graduate students and postdoctoral fellows.  Travel awards are available for trainees, and prizes will be given for the best posters.  Biochemistry and Cell Biology will publish a special issue devoted to the theme of this conference, featuring review articles and papers submitted by conference participants.  This meeting is very popular and is limited to 250 participants, so register early.

The Banff Centre http://www.banffcentre.ca/conferences is well situated just inside the gates to Banff National Park and is a 2 hr drive west of Calgary.  The Banff Centre is located on the east side of Banff, four blocks from Banff Avenue and is approximately a 10-15 minute walk to town.  Banff Centre facilities have expansive windows that allow guests to experience and enjoy the full beauty of The Banff Centre’s natural setting.  Access to the Sally Borden Fitness & Recreation Centre is included with your accommodations.  Sessions are held in the morning and evening, with afternoons left free to participate in other activities, including Spring Skiing at Sunshine Village or Mt. Norquay in the heart of Canada’s Rocky Mountains.

Organizing Committee

  • Joe Casey (Chair), University of Alberta | joe.casey@ualberta.ca
  • Todd Alexander, University of Alberta | todd2@ualberta.ca
  • Carol Cass, University of Alberta | carol.cass@cancerboard.ab.ca
  • Chris Cheeseman, University of Alberta | chris.cheeseman@ualberta.ca
  • Xing-Zhen-Chen, University of Alberta | xzchen@ualberta.ca
  • Emmanuelle Cordat, University of Alberta | cordat@ualberta.ca
  • Marek Duszyk, University of Alberta | marek.duszyk@ualberta.ca
  • Larry Fliegel, University of Alberta | lfliegel@ualberta.ca
  • Joanne Lemieux, University of Alberta | mlemieux@ualberta.ca
  • Elaine Leslie, University of Alberta |eleslie@ualberta.ca
  • Reinhart Reithmeier, University of Toronto| r.reithmeier@utoronto.ca
  • Nicolas Touret, University of Alberta |  touret@ualberta.ca
  • Howard Young, University of Alberta | hyoung@ualberta.ca

Session Topics & Confirmed Speakers

  • Keynote Speaker: Gunnar von Heijne, Stockholm University
  • Trafficking / Folding
    Ron Kopito (Stanford University)
    Emmanuelle Cordat (University of Alberta)
    Franck Duong (University of British Columbia)
    David Andrews (McMaster University)
  • Membrane Proteins in Non-Mammalian Species
    Ekkehard Neuhaus (University of Kaiserslautern)
    Dean Price (Australian National University)
    Etana Padan  (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
    Janet Wood (University of Guelph)
  • Regulation of Membrane Proteins
    Joachim Deitmer (University of Kaiserslautern)
    Daniela Rotin (University of Toronto)
    Jonathan Lytton (University of Calgary)
    Larry Fliegel (University of Alberta)
  • Diseases of Membrane Proteins
    Elaine Leslie (University of Alberta)
    Gergely Lukacs (McGill University)
    Steve Somlo (Yale University)
    Sven-Eric Jordt (Yale University)
  • Membrane Protein Structure
    Joannne Lemieux (University of Alberta)
    Da Neng Wang (New York University)
    Jeff Abramson (University of  California, Los Angeles)
    Francisco Bezanilla (University of Chicago)