Tarik Moroy named fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences

Tarik Moroy
Tarik Moroy

Congratulations to CSMB President Tarik Moroy, who was elected fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences for his exceptional contributions to health research in Canada.

His studies revealed novel genes and proteins implicated in the regulation of blood cell production opening new avenues in molecular hematology and contributing insight into blood diseases such as leukemia and lymphoma for which improved therapies are urgently needed.

Learn more on the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences website. + + +

CSMB Awards 2018: Mona Nemer, Jim Woodgett, Richard Rachubinski, and Katey Rayner

The CSMB is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 CSMB Scholarly Awards

The CSMB New Investigator Award has been bestowed on Dr. Katey Rayner, Assistant Professor, University of Ottawa Heart Institute and Department of Biochemistry, to recognize outstanding research in one or more of the fields of biochemistry, molecular or cellular biology in not more than the first ten years as an independent investigator. + + +

CSMB: Ensuring a Strong Future for Science and Scientists

Phil Hieter
Phil Hieter

Read an article in Research Futures about the CSMB, featuring an interview with President Phil Hieter:

As scientists make fast and concerted advancements in life-saving technologies, the squeeze on funding could threaten their momentum.
That’s where Dr Philip Hieter, President of the Canadian Society for Molecular Biosciences (CSMB), comes in. To get the ‘biggest bang for their buck’, the CSMB is leveraging its collective knowledge and talents by focusing on the most pressing issues facing fundamental research, like funding. Through advocacy and education, they aim to influence not only present and future scientists, but decision makers in the Canadian government and the world.