CSMB Jeanne Manery Fisher Memorial Lecture

Next awarded 2021

This award is offered annually.

In honor of the late Jeanne Manery Fisher, Professor of Biochemistry, University of Toronto, an eminent woman will be selected by the Society for her scientific accomplishments. Dr. Fisher was not only an outstanding biochemist, but a remarkable teacher. She was instrumental in creating the Society’s Equal Opportunity Committee and fought diligently for the position of women in science.

(1) Evaluation criteria

  • Research record – 3 points
  • Teaching/mentorship – 2 points
  • Science leadership – 2 points
  • Mentored or promoted women or increased diversity in STEM – 2 points
  • Outreach – 1 point

The nominee must have a distinguished career in the field of biomolecular sciences (Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Molecular Biology or Genetics) and must have demonstrated exceptional teaching, leadership and/or contributions to the broader community. The Jeanne Manery Fisher award will also celebrate role models who have actively mentored or promoted women or increased diversity in STEM.

(2) Eligibility

The nominee must be a permanent resident or Canadian citizen and identify as a woman. There are no age or experience restrictions. The nominee must have lived in Canada and have worked at a Canadian research institute for the last 10 years as a senior investigator (defined by 15 years in an independent research position). The nominee and nominator need not be a member of the CSMB. Applicants are strongly encouraged to also apply to the Canadian Science Publishing Senior Investigator Award.

(3) Nomination process

It is preferred that the nominator be at an equal or higher professional rank as the nominee. Chairs/ Heads/ Deans/ Presidents are encouraged to nominate members of their faculty for this prestigious award. Self-nominations will also be considered.

Nominations shall consist of

  • a letter from a nominator familiar with the nominee’s work, which summarizes the originality and significance of the nominee’s research and leadership contributions, as well as pertinent biographic data, plus a copy of
  • the nominee’s curriculum vitae.


The awardee will deliver a lecture at the CSMB Annual Conference and submit a manuscript or review of their related work/career path for publication in the journals Biochemistry and Cell Biology or Genome and in the CSMB Bulletin. Awardees are encouraged to become CSMB members.


Previous winners of this award

1988 Dr. Rose Shenin 1991 Dr. Rose Johnstone 1994 Dr. Shirley Gillam
1996 Dr. Nicole Bégin-Heick 1998 Dr. Rhoda Blostein 2000 Dr. Amira Klip, Dr. Carol Cass
2002 Dr. Mona Nemer 2004 Dr. Morag Park 2006 Dr. Frances Sharom
2008 Dr. Katherine Siminovitch 2010 Dr. Cheryl Arrowsmith 2012 Dr. Julie Forman-Kay
2014 Dr. Susan Lees-Miller  2017 Dr. Brenda Andrews 2019 Dr. Anne-Claude Gingras