Canadian Science Publishing Senior Investigator Award

Biochemistry and Cell Biology journal

(Merged with the former Genetics Society of Canada Award of Excellence 1976 – 2003; and William F Grant and Peter B Moens Award of Excellence 2004 – 2016)

Next Awarded 2020

This award is offered annually.

The award recognizes exceptional Canadian scientists with a record of outstanding achievement in molecular biosciences research who have also demonstrated exceptional teaching, leadership and/or contributions to the broader community.

(1) Evaluation criteria

Nominees will have evidence of (i) a strong record of research with significant contributions in the field(s) of genetics, biochemistry and/or cell biology. In addition, (ii) nominees must demonstrate their commitment to science leadership in the broader community, such as, but not limited to, exceptional commitment to teaching/mentorship, advocacy work, science communication and outreach. Canadian Society for Molecular Biosciences (CSMB) acknowledges that the best research comes from a richly diverse community and therefore encourages applications from women and members of under-represented groups.

(2) Eligibility

The nominee should be a Canadian citizen or a landed immigrant and there are no age or experience restrictions. The nominee must have lived in Canada and have worked at a Canadian research institute for the last 10 years in a senior investigator position. The nominee need not be a member of the CSMB. Self-nominations will not be considered.

(3) Nomination process

The nominator should be at an equal or higher professional rank as the nominee. Chairs /Heads /Deans /Presidents are encouraged to nominate members of their faculty for this prestigious award. Nominations shall consist of a letter from a nominator familiar with the nominee’s work, which summarizes the originality and significance of the nominee’s research and leadership contributions, as well as pertinent biographic data, plus a copy of the nominee’s curriculum vitae.

This documentation must be submitted to the Secretary of the Society by October 31, 2019.

The deadline will be extended until a diverse group of nominees is obtained.

The awardee will deliver a lecture at the Annual Conference and submit a manuscript for publication in the Biochemistry and Cell Biology and in the CSMB Bulletin.

1981 M. Smith 1984 N. Hozum 1985 H. Schachter
1987 M. Gray 1989 D. Vance 1991 J. Riordan
1993 M. Chrétien 1995 R.S. Hodges 1997 A. J. Pawson
1999 G. Chaconas 2001 F. Doolittle 2003 V. Ling
2005 C. Bleackley 2007 N. Sonenberg 2009 Hans Vogel
2011 Benjamin J. Blencowe 2012 M. Bouvier 2013 B. Chabot
2014 James McGhee  2015 Michael James  2016 Gerry Wright
2017 Sergio Grinstein  2018 Richard Rachubinski
2019 Sylvain Moineau

Previous winners of this award

GSC Award of Excellence Winners, first given in 1976


1976 Newcombe, H.B.

1977 Sears, E.R.

1978 Fredeen, H.T.

1979 Butler, L.

1980 Fraser, F.C.

1981 Mortimer, R.K.

1982 Person, C.O.

1983 von Borstel, R.C.

1984 Chown, B.

1985 Moens, P.B.

1986  James, A.P.

1987 Kafer, E.

1988 Smith, Michael

1989  Kuspira, J.

1990 Tsui, Lap-Chee

1991 Doolittle, W.F.

1992 Scriver, C.R.

1993 Haynes, R.H.

1994 Kasha, K.

1995 Cox, D.W.

1996 Walden, D.B.

1997 Griffiths, A.J.F.

1998 Bernstein, Allen

1999 Bussey, Howard

2000 Culotti, Joseph

2001 Hayden, Michael

2002 Baillie, David

2003 Morgan, Ken

In 2004 the award was renamed the William F Grant and Peter B Moens Award of Excellence


2004 Lasko, Paul

2005  Hilliker, Arthur

2006 Hegele, Robert

2007 Sokolowski, Marla

2008 Singh, Shiva

2009 Golding, Brian

2010  Singh, Rama


2012 Phillips, John

2015  Scoles, Graham